Skip to main content

Equality Delivery System

The Equality Delivery System (EDS) is designed to support the people who buy and provide NHS services to provide better outcomes for patients and communities and better working environments for staff, which are personal, fair and diverse.  The EDS is all about making positive differences to healthy living and working lives.

The EDS is a tool for NHS organisations - in partnership with patients, the public, staff and staff side organisations – to review its equality performance and to identify future priorities and actions.  It also offers local and national reporting and accountability mechanisms.

At the heart of the EDS is a set of 18 outcomes grouped into four goals.  These outcomes focus on the issues of most concern to patients, carers and communities, NHS staff and Boards.

The four EDS goals are:

  1. Better health outcomes for all
  2. Improved patient access and experience
  3. Empowered, engaged and included staff
  4. Inclusive leadership at all levels.

The grades are as follows:

  1. Excelling – purple
  2. Achieving – green
  3. Developing – amber
  4. Underdeveloped – red

Please follow the link below to see Liverpool Women's Hospital NHS Foundation Trust EDS grades: