Skip to main content

Single Equality Scheme

Our Single Equality Scheme demonstrates our commitment to meet the duties of equality legislation. It incorporates the requirements of the Equality act 2010 and is focused on the nine groups awarded legal protection on the grounds of their 'protected characteristics' under this Act. The nine protected characteristics under the Equality act 2010 are:

  • Age
  • Disability 
  • Gender reassignment 
  • Marriage & civil partnership 
  • Pregnancy & maternity 
  • Race 
  • Religion or belief 
  • Sex 
  • Sexual orientation

As well as the full scheme we publish an Executive Summary which summarises how we meet our duties in compliance with equality legislation.

Taking action

The Action Plan for our Single Equality Scheme is developed from the Equality Impact Assessments we carry out on all our services, functions, strategies and policies. It contains input from a wide range of groups and individuals following public consultation. We know this plan will evolve as existing actions are completed and future ones are identified. That’s why monitoring, evaluation and review are so important to us.